Mayor Wilson Welcomes Smiles Charity Recipient Sgt Michael Beeson to Forney

On Sunday afternoon a large crowd of Veteran supporters joined the Smiles Charity foundation for a home dedication ceremony for U.S. Army Retired Sgt. Michael Beeson who is the honored recipient of a beautiful new home located at 3000 Sweet Water in Forney. A large group of dignitaries including Forney Mayor Rick Wilson, McKinney Mayor Brian Loughmiller, Collin County Judge Keith Self, Kaufman County Judge Bruce Wood and Keynote Speaker, US Congressman John Ratcliffe

Read more ...

Forney Resident Named on OBU Honor Roll

Forney, Texas, resident Morgan Williams was named on Oklahoma Baptist University’s academic honor roll for the spring 2016 semester. Williams, family life track major, was named on The President’s Honor Roll.

The President’s Honor Roll recognizes students who achieved a semester grade point average of 3.7 or higher on a 4.0 scale. The Dean’s Honor Roll acknowledges those who achieved a grade point average from 3.4 to 3.69. The Bison Honor Roll recognizes part-time students who completed between 6 to 11 hours with a grade point average of 3.4 or higher with no grade lower than a C.

Read more ...

Eastfield College Expanding Brewing Program Due to High Demand

Eastfield College is nearly doubling the size of its Journeyman Brewer certificate program this year due to increased demand from both students and local breweries. Texas’ only college-based brewing education program kicked off in 2015 with 18 students and quickly produced a 95 percent placement rate in the craft beer industry.

Read more ...

Kaufman County Awarded Contract for US 80 Ramp Project

In an ongoing effort to enhance state roadways and improve safety, the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) approved a contract to relocate the entrance and exit ramps on US 80 between FM 460 and FM 740.

The $5.04 million contract was awarded to Ed Bell Construction Company.

Read more ...

DSM Awards Best Actor and Best Actress Scholarships

The 5th Annual Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards (DSM HSMTA) Best Actor John Fredrickson from Guyer High School placed as a finalist and both he and Best Actress Kaiden Maines from Waxahachie High School won scholarships at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (the Jimmy™ Awards) on June 27th in New York City.

This is the first time since DSM began the High School Musical Theatre Awards five years ago that the Best Actor has placed as a finalist and both Best Actor and Best Actress have won scholarships.

Read more ...

City of Forney Holds Massive 4th of July Celebration

On Saturday evening approximately twenty-thousand American’s gathered on the soccer fields of the Forney Community Park in celebration of Independence Day. Going all out, the City of Forney Special Events department presented a massive, free, Independence Day Celebration that packed the park with thousands of excited children.

Read more ...

Latest News